You Are Here: Home » Afghanistan » Presidential Runners’ Names Placed on Ballot Paper

Presidential Runners’ Names Placed on Ballot Paper

Presidential Runners’ Names Placed on Ballot

KABUL – A lucky draw, organised by the Independent Election Commission (IEC), on Monday gave each candidate for the 2014 presidential elections a place on the ballot paper. A meeting, attended by presidential runners’ representatives and members of civil society groups, participated in the IEC-organised meeting in Kabul. Candidate names based on THE draw are.

1-    Dr Abdullah Abdullah 2-    Daud Sultanzoy 3-    Abdul Rahim Wardak 4-    Abdul Qayum Karzai 5-    Dr Ashraf Ghani Ahmadzai 6-    Sardar Mohammad Nader Naeem 7-    Dr Zalmai Rassoul 8-    Eng Qutbuddin Hilal 9-    Mohammad Shafiq Gul Agha Sherzai 10-  Abdul Rab Rassoul Sayyaf 11-  Hedayat Amin Arsala

IEC Chairman Ahmad Yousuf Nuristani told the meeting the draw was performed to ensure transparency in the electoral process. “The ballot held in the presence of media, civil society and representatives of candidates was aimed at bringing fairness to the process,” he said, adding each runner should have a photo and his number on the ballot paper.

The 11th wannabe added to the final list, Daud Sultanzoy, appreciated the IEC for the inclusion of his name in the ballot. He called the election important for the country’s future. “The IEC efforts for a transparent election are welcome.” Nuristani said provincial candidates’ ballot paper would be prepared later in the day in a similar fashion. He added 2,713 candidates, including 307 women, were in the run for provincial councils. (PAN)

Leave a Comment

Copyright © 2014 The Afghanistan Express Daily - All Rights Reserved.

Scroll to top