You Are Here: Home » Afghanistan » New Ministers Sworn in, Greeted by Karzai

New Ministers Sworn in, Greeted by Karzai

Afghanistan's Minister of Counter Narcot

KABUL -: Five Cabinet members, who won a vote of confidence from the Wolesi Jirga on Wednesday, were sworn in by President Hamid Karzai on Monday. Zarar Ahmad Osmani took oath as foreign minister, Mohammad Arif Noorzai as energy and water minister, Shakir Kargar as commerce minister, Mohammad Akbar Barakzai as petroleum and mines minister and Din Mohammad Rashidi as counternarcotics minister.

According to a statement from the Presidential Palace, the ministers pledged to discharge their responsibilities to the best of their ability and in accordance with Islamic teachings, as well as Afghan laws. Following the swearing-in ceremony, President Hamid Karzai greeted the Cabinet members — whose predecessors have resigned to contest the presidential April 2014 vote. Karzai urged them to serve their country in the best possible manner. – (PAN)

Leave a Comment

Copyright © 2014 The Afghanistan Express Daily - All Rights Reserved.

Scroll to top